top of page

So Many Things.

Have any of you ever wanted to do so many things at the one time? That's me at the moment and it's so overwhelming.


I'm working at Coles, I'm doing my Bullet Journaling, Atomic work, this Blog, the Fishing Club stuff, and that doesn't even include the little things - going to the gym, general house cleaning, spending time with Ollie, doing things for myself (like reading a book, or having a bath). It just feels like I don't have enough time.

Typing it out it doesn't seem like much but there's hours of work that go into each thing I've just mentioned and there's only 24 hours in a day. Eight of them I'm sleeping, two of them I'm cooking dinner, half an hour I'm getting ready for the day and another half hour is spent with Ollie throughout the day. Then if I work that could be between 3-4 hours, I've been getting a few five hour shifts lately too.


It's all just really overwhelming lately. I know you're probably thinking "just get rid of some things off your plate". I can't. Everything I've mentioned means a lot to me and I don't want to cut it out.


I've kind of had a bit of a wake up call this past week. The gym I go to is having a Wellness Challenge month and I decided to jump on board because I don't already have enough shit to do. But I'm glad I did. This Wellness Challenge is all about me and caring for me, which has made me realise I don't do enough of.


The first 2 were to write down my monthly goals and create a vision board. Initially I thought they were silly but once I did them I felt empowered and inspired - I'm now going to have monthly goals every month!

September Monthly Goals:

- Go to the gym at least twice a week.

- Have more control when it comes to sweet treats.

- Don't be so hard on myself.

- Go to more gym classes.

- Motivate and push myself - I can do this.


- Vision Board -

I won't go into depth with my vision board so I'll just explain that I've got motivational quotes, positive words and pictures of things I want to do/achieve. I personally think it looks really cool, and I've got it above my Mac so that I see it every time I'm in the Office at home.

 

I bought a Health & Fitness Journal to help me keep track of my eating and workouts - basically something to keep me accountable. I only write in it the days I work out, so if I see a big gap from when I last worked out I can find out what got in the way and find a way to make sure it doesn't happen again. I'm really wanting to try this time, there has been so many times I've tried to eat healthy and lose weight in the past and fall back into old habits - I'm sure you can relate to this. But this time I really am trying because I am disappointed in myself, I'm 21, almost 22 and I weigh 86kg and I'm so unfit. I'm not happy with how my body looks and I'm sick of putting on clothes from last season and only just being able to fit in them. I put on a pair of my jean shorts the other day and was scared to put them on, it shouldn't be like that. So it's time for a change.

Health & Fitness Journal - $5 from Kmart


My workout program may not look like much to you but for me it's perfect. I warm up with some cardio, I do a little bit of leg work (legs aren't my focus at the moment), and then get into my arms and core. I want to gain more muscle in my arms and tone up my stomach. I obviously want to lose weight everywhere (which is focused on what I eat) but I also want to tone. I want to be able to wear a crop top or a bikini without having to worry about my flabby belly showing. I want to be able to wear a singlet top without my 'granny flabs' wobbling - and hopefully this Summer I will.


Eating is a bitch, I honestly wish we didn't have to eat to survive.

I'm so bad with my eating it's not funny, and it doesn't help that I'm an extremely fussy eater too. I have been trying new things recently with this health kick and have liked what I have tried - but they're mainly all dinner meals. It's the snacking I struggle with. I don't really like fruit, I like strawberries when they're not sour as fuck, I like apples when I can be bothered to peel the skin off and cut it up, I like Mangoes when they're ripe - but I can't pick a ripe Mango to save my life so there goes that. I don't like bananas but have been eating them recently when I've been craving something sweet, but that's it. Four types of fruit I'll eat out of the thousands that exist. Being fussy and trying to eat healthy fucking sucks and it's hard.


So getting back on track to what this blog is about, amongst all of the other things I'm doing, I'm also facing the struggles of wanting to be healthy and lose weight.

I have to set myself daily to do lists because I have that many things to do each day. I find that the days I'm not working don't really feel like 'days off' because I try and get so many things done so I'm not completely exhausted on the days I do work (doing stuff before AND after work). I haven't really had a day off to myself in a long time. So I think I may have to schedule one day a month that I have to myself to do no work and just do what I want to do. I really need to work on self care amongst my busy life.


Don't get me wrong, I love everything I do, I just need to learn how to better manage it all - which will ironically come in time.


- Ollie -


My gosh he's a cutie, and I know I don't spend enough time with him. This is one of the first things I need to work on. I need to work out how to fit a half hour walk with Ollie in my days because he deserves to be walked every day. I'm going to work towards every second-third day, I know it doesn't seem like much but it's better than the once every 2 weeks that he's currently getting. Don't twist what I'm saying and think Ollie has a shit life, because he doesn't. Ollie is loved, cared for, cuddled every morning and night, played with and talked to. He's also fed but that's a given haha. He's got the run of the house and legit has a bed in every room. He's the most spoilt dog I've ever met - and we haven't helped the fact.


To summarise, I need to work on time. I need to not overwhelm myself with everything I do and I need to make sure I leave time for myself.


I'll keep you updated.

72 views

Recent Posts

See All

Intro.

Blog Logo (1).png
DaniCali%20(31%20of%2052)_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

If you're keen to keep reading things about me, feel free to subscribe and get my blogs to your email! 

Blog Logo (2).png

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for subscribing!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Blog Logo (2).png
bottom of page