top of page

No Excuses & Self Care.

I swear I can find an excuse for anything, and it gives me the shits.


One of my goals for October is to not use any excuses, because I'm honestly over it. I'm sick of using "I have a 3 hour shift at work today" as an excuse to not go to the gym when I have so many hours in the day to go. I get it in my head that if I go to the gym before work I'll be super tired, yet in reality I'm only tired after work, not before or during. It's basically self sabotage.


I'm also sick of not looking after myself - mentally AND physically. At the end of August/start of September I made the decision to get to the gym and lose weight. In that time period I did not give it my all. Yeah I did go to the gym but I went like once or twice a week, not consecutively.



But enough is enough.

Big decisions were made between myself and Callum over the past few weeks, some being no snacking, no spending money on shit we don't need and planning healthy meals for each week! I'm sure we will slip up here and there but that's all about the process and journey. Eventually eating healthy and saving money will become a habit and a part of our daily lives.


I'm hoping that this month I can start taking some time out of each day to spend on myself, meditating, stretching, reading, I don't know. Just something that I want to do for ME. Self care has never been a priority for me but I think that needs to change, and I'm willing to put the time and effort in, to change that. I bought myself a bike, so now with this warmer weather and living so close to town, I can start riding to places and not drive. The only 'excuses' I can find for not riding is rain and period pain (which I'm currently having and cannot even think about riding a bike right now 😂).



My October Goals.

I've made my October goals reachable but in a way that I still have to work for them. There's no point in setting unachievable goals, because you won't achieve them and feel disheartened and will quit. Set goals that aren't out of reach, set ones that are reachable and smash them! No excuses and no snacking are pretty big ones for me this month, they're going to be the tough ones. The others are just about willpower and me getting off my lazy butt and just doing it.

 

I've never had strong willpower, not even as a child. I've always found myself going 'this is the last time' or 'it'll be fine, I'll start tomorrow' when deep down I know I won't and it'll be just a vicious cycle. But this month I'm going to work hard on it. Saying no to a second serve of dinner, to that chocolate bar that's on special for $1. I don't NEED it.


Over the long weekend we went camping and had snacks etc which was unavoidable, so my goals start today, October 5th 2020. Although this morning hasn't been as productive as I would have liked, I'm still going to have a productive day. I'm going to smash my to do list out and then plan my day for tomorrow.

I've got my program review tomorrow at the gym and I know I'm not going to have lost any weight since I first signed up. Which I'm not looking forward to. I'm not looking forward to seeing the disappointment in my PT's face when she see's that I haven't lost any weight. But I'm making a promise to myself, and to her, that this month we will see a change.


I've started to not film my Bullet Journaling. Reason being is that filming it, then editing and fine tuning was taking up so much of my time and it was making me lose sight as to why I started Bujoing in the first place - I started doing it for me. I filmed it because I thought it could be a cool thing to do, but at this point in my life, recording and uploading my bujo videos is not a priority. However, if you still wish to see my spreads I am still uploading photos of them to my Instagram. That was the first change involved with my self care journey, coming to the realisation that something I love to do, was being done for the wrong reasons and so I did something about it. I'm hoping that there are many more changes like this coming soon.


If anyone has any healthy dinner recipes, meditation tips or suggestions, or any tips or advice on what I've written in this blog, I ask you to scroll to the bottom of this link and contact me. Contact me and help a girl out cause this month is going to be a tough one! If you're going through the same or similar or even something completely different and need to chat, I'm here!


I'll keep you updated.


29 views

Recent Posts

See All

Intro.

Blog Logo (1).png
DaniCali%20(31%20of%2052)_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

If you're keen to keep reading things about me, feel free to subscribe and get my blogs to your email! 

Blog Logo (2).png

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for subscribing!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Blog Logo (2).png
bottom of page